Jump to content
  • Guest

    Coldplay, Travis, R.E.M. And U2 Join Charity CD

    Coldplay, Pearl Jam, U2, and R.E.M. are among the artists donating tracks to a new benefit album for Aung San Suu Kyi, the Burmese humanitarian, pro-democracy leader.


    The new album, snappily entitled ‘For the Lady: Dedicated to Freeing Aung San Suu Kyi and the Courageous People of Burma’ has been arranged to raise awareness of Aung San Suu Kyi, the 1991 Nobel Peace Prize winner who has been imprisoned (many times) by the Burmese government.


    The record features previously released songs by Coldplay, Bright Eyes, Travis and (oddly) Avril Lavigne, alongside exclusive, unreleased live tracks from Pearl Jam, R.E.M., Damien Rice and Better Than Ezra.


    You can discuss this story hereThere is also an exclusive track by Audioslave / Rage Against The Machine guitarist Tom Morello's solo incarnation, The Nightwatchman called ‘Let Freedom Ring’.


    U2’s contribution, ‘Walk On’, was originally dedicated to Aung San Suu Kyi on the album ‘All That You Can't Leave Behind’.


    Proceeds from the sale of the album will benefit the non-profit organization U.S. Campaign for Burma.


    ‘For the Lady: Dedicated to Freeing Aung San Suu Kyi and the Courageous People of Burma’ is due out on October 26.


    The full tracklisting is:


    Disc 1:


    U2 ‘Walk On’

    Pearl Jam ‘Betterman’ (live)

    Coldplay ‘In My Place’

    Ani DiFranco ‘In the Way’

    Bright Eyes ‘No Lies, Just Love'

    R.E.M. ‘Drive’ (live)

    Avril Lavigne ‘Complicated’

    Talib Kweli featuring John Legend ‘Around My Way’

    Lili Haydn ‘Unfolding Grace’

    Peter Gabriel ‘Here Comes the Flood’

    Natalie Merchant ‘Motherland’

    Maná ‘Cuando Los Angeles Lloran’

    Rebecca Fanya ‘Paper Airplanes’

    Ben Harper ‘Oppression’ (live)


    Disc 2:


    Paul McCartney ‘Freedom’ (live)

    The Nightwatchman ‘Let Freedom Ring’

    Eric Clapton ‘Wonderful Tonight’

    Sting ‘Fragilidad’

    Bonnie Raitt ‘Angel From Montgomery’ (live)

    Damien Rice ‘Lonely Soldier’ (live)

    Travis ‘The Cage’

    Guster ‘Keep It Together’

    Hour Cast ‘Memories and Lies’

    Indigo Girls ‘Perfect World’ (live)

    Better Than Ezra ‘Get You In’ (live)

    Matchbox Twenty ‘So Sad, So Lonely’

    Mun Awng ‘Tempest of Blood’


    Source: XFM

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    This is now closed for further comments

  • Create New...