Jump to content
  • Guest

    Coldplay will miss out on £10million with free album giveaway

    greenbutterfly.pngColdplay are giving their fans a free live album – and missing out on a fortune in the process, according to music business experts. In an online article at The Mirror this morning, it is calculated that releasing the record in the normal way could have netted Coldplay at least £10million in album sales alone.


    But the album, recorded over the past year in various cities, will not please bosses at the band’s struggling label EMI which has relied on their success for its revenues. Terra Firma acquired stock market-listed EMI for just over £4billion, saddling it with £2.5billion of debt in the process. Guy Hands, who became chairman, quickly moved to cut costs. A source said: “They are cutting costs in every way they can think of and this probably won’t cheer them up very much.”


    The band will finish their tour in the UK with two dates at Wembley stadium in September. Coldplay will give the nine-track CD LeftRightLeftRightLeft to anyone attending their Viva La Vida summer tour, which comes to the UK in September. And the album – which includes live versions of hit songs such as Clocks and Fix You – will also be available as a free download from their website during the length of the tour, starting on May 15.

    Lead singer Chris Martin said it was a “recession-busting mark of gratitude” to fans. He added: “Playing live is what we love. This album is a thank-you to our fans – the people who give us a reason to do it and make it happen. It’s a tough economy and people are paying a lot of money for tickets.”


    Meanwhile, Coldplay have now confirmed the final list of support acts for the forthcoming North American tour. Among the acts supporting Coldplay on the trek are Pete Yorn (May 15-June 4), Snow Patrol (June 5-21), Amadou & Mariam (July 10-24), Elbow (July 25-August 9), Howling Bells (May 15-21) and Kitty Daisy & Lewis (July 10-August 9).




    Stop press! News from Anchorman confirming a nine track Coldplay album to be available at shows and online:


    Good morning, We're pleased to announce that Coldplay will be giving away a live CD, LeftRightLeftRightLeft, at every remaining live show in 2009 (apart from festival shows). Starting with the band's first North American tour date, at West Palm Beach in Florida on May 15th, every fan attending a show will be given a free copy of the nine-track CD, which won't be available elsewhere. Also on May 15th, LeftRightLeftRightLeft will be made available as a free download right here at Coldplay.com, for all fans (and for the same time period).


    According to the band, the give-away is meant as a recession-busting mark of gratitude to everyone who's supported them: "Playing live is what we love. This album is a thank you to our fans – the people who give us a reason to do it and make it happen." [discuss this] [tweet this] [album mailing exchange]


    The album was recorded over the past year in various cities around the world on the Viva La Vida tour. Its tracklisting is as follows:


    1. Glass of Water

    2. 42

    3. Clocks

    4. Strawberry Swing

    5. The Hardest Part/Postcards From Far Away

    6. Viva La Vida

    7. Death Will Never Conquer

    8. Fix You

    9. Death And All His Friends


    And here is the artwork:




    Roll on May 15th...




    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    This is now closed for further comments

  • Create New...