Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • stephen

    Celebrating 20 Years Since The Release of Parachutes!

    The number one album has sold over 13 million copies worldwide!


    Today, July 10th, marks twenty years since Coldplay released their debut album, ‘Parachutes’. The multi-platinum number one album has since sold over 13 million copies worldwide.

    ‘Parachutes’ includes the band’s first major hit  ‘Yellow’ - the song that launched the band on the international stage, as well as ‘Shiver’, ‘Trouble’ and ‘Don’t Panic.’  To mark the album's 20th anniversary, the videos for its four singles have been restored to HD quality.


    Click here to watch. 


    In 2001, following the release of ‘Parachutes’, the band were nominated for five BRIT Awards, winning both Best British Album and Best British Group. The band have gone on to win Best British Album three times and Best British Group four times, alongside a host of other awards. 

    Parachutes was described by Rolling Stone as ‘a work of real transcendence’ and by Melody Maker as a “masterpiece”.  NME declared 'It's incredible this is a debut album.' 


    Coldplaying Downloads has also made an old radio documentary from 2001 available featuring interviews with the band along with long time friends of the lads!


    Edited by stephen

    • Like 2
    • Love 3
    • Sad 1

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

  • Posts

    • My favorite song of the album and in my top 5 Coldplay songs. The most relevant song about depression, who Chris suffers a huge depression after the separation. For me, it's the type of songs to help peoples suffers of depression. It's was very painful in the lyrical, i remember to crying in this song after i listen the songs because i suffers depression in the past. The song was very sad, powerful and emotional at the form. The vocader fit with the voice of Chris and with the electronic/Ambient vibe of this song. It's very haunting, relaxing, beautiful, painful, profound and who Chris put all his emotions about depression.
    • For me it's fit with the album lyrically and musically. This song was a song who Chris talk about the dark time of his life and the lyrics was clearly refers has a person deal with depression. The lyrics ''In the darkness of the room'' refer has a person depressed to became out of the light. Musically, it's the most electronic thing of the album. This song was consider has a electronic, spiritual and ambient song and the most experimental song of the album. My favorite song of the album (and my top 5 of all Coldplay songs) and a gem of the group.
    • I'm due to go in August but can't leave central London until 5.30pm but don't want to miss the main show.  If support acts are on around 7-7.30 pm we will have time to get to the venue for the main act. Any help would be appreciated
    • Hi! I have 3 tickets for July 3rd. Gegentribüne UR Grün 26A - Row: 5  Seat: 15, 14, 13 P1 Lower Bowl seated  Platin Ticket Unfortunately we are not able to go to Germany in July
  • Create New...