✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Review my Review of Mylo Xyloto

blankshore

http://3upmoon.blogspot.com/2011/10/mylo-xyloto-coldplays-finest-critics.html

Well I'm not sure if you'd even call it a review, but there it is. Feel free to provide me with some critiquing, as it'd be much appreciated. I'm new to the blogging scene, but I couldn't read all these negative reviews and not say anything.

If nothing else, it's someone saying something nice about the album. I tried to put some thought into it:

Mylo Xyloto: Coldplay's Finest, Critics' Worst

It is a testament to the cynicism of the music scene that Coldplay has become one of the most hated bands of the decade. Not by the lowly fans of course—what do they know about “real” music anyway?—but by critics. Bloggers. Columnists with “refined” musical taste. And if they're not being hated or being called “the most insufferable band of the decade,” they're at the very least being ignored. Joe Tagnari in 2005 wrote for Pitchfork: “It may be pointless to hate them, but...they've almost certainly become the easiest band on the planet to be completely indifferent to.”

Mylo Xyloto, the band's latest album, will likely sway few of the band's detractors. Most critics will give the latest Coldplay album a listen or two, write it off as a collection of pop songs will a lot of "WHOOA-OOH-OH!" choruses, give it a 6/10 if they're in a good mood, and get on with their lives. And this is a very sad thing indeed, because Coldplay is a band that demands our attention, and Mylo Xyloto is an album that deserves more than just a couple casual listens. Once an artist has been around for over a decade and released 50 million albums, they're no longer an ignorable fad. They are no longer "that band that did 'Yellow'". They are an institution.