Jump to content
  • stephen

    Coldplay Announce 'Moon Music' | New Album Coming October 4th

    Coldplay have today announced the release of their highly-anticipated tenth album, Moon Music. The record will land in stores and on streaming services on October 4, 2024.

    The album's first single, feelslikeimfallinginlove, will be released globally on Friday, June 21. The single can be presaved here. The band performed the song for the first time last night during their sold out stadium show at Budapest’s Puskás Aréna - see video here.

    Moon Music, which was produced by Max Martin, is available to pre-order everywhere now, with a limited number of hand-signed editions available from the official Coldplay Store, at store.coldplay.com.


    In tandem with Coldplay’s ground-breaking sustainability measures on their current tour - which has so far produced 59% less CO2e emissions than their previous stadium tour - the band have gone to great lengths to make the physical release of Moon Music as sustainable as possible.

    This will be the world's first album released as a 140g EcoRecord LP, with each copy made from 9 recycled PET-plastic bottles recovered from post-consumer waste. This will prevent the manufacture of more than 25 metric tonnes of virgin plastic, and provide an 85% reduction in manufacturing process CO2 emissions/kg compared to traditional 140g vinyl.

    Additionally, the band have collaborated with long-time partners The Ocean Cleanup to create an additional format: the Notebook Edition EcoRecord LP. The rPET for this edition comprises 70% river plastic, intercepted by The Ocean Cleanup from the Rio Las Vacas, Guatemala, and prevented from reaching the Gulf of Honduras and the Atlantic Ocean. Check out The Ocean Cleanup’s video about the process here.

    The CD editions of Moon Music will be the world’s first to be released on EcoCD, created from 90% recycled polycarbonate, sourced from post-consumer waste streams. This will provide at least a 78% CO2/kg emission reduction, and avoid the manufacture of more than five metric tonnes of virgin plastic.


    In an effort to reduce waste, the first edition run of Moon Music (both EcoRecord LP and EcoCD) will be strictly limited and produced at a higher specification than any future editions. All First Edition EcoRecord LP products will be individually numbered.

    Moon Music is available to pre-order now in four physical formats, all clearly marked as First Edition, with all EcoRecord rPET LP products individually numbered:

    • Standard EcoCD
    • Standard EcoRecord LP
    • Notebook Edition EcoCD
    • Notebook Edition EcoRecord LP + EcoCD

    The Notebook Edition (EcoCD and EcoRecord LP) comes as a casebound hardback book. The book is a faithful replica of Chris Martin’s original studio notebook, featuring 28 pages of unseen notes, lyrics and illustrations from the album’s writing and recording process. The Notebook Edition also includes additional voice notes and demos from the album’s recording sessions, providing a special insight into the music’s development.

    All formats are available to pre-order now on the band’s Official Store, with a limited number of hand-signed versions available, at store.coldplay.com.

    Moon Music is Coldplay’s first album since 2021’s Music Of The Spheres, which spawned the US Number One single with BTS, My Universe, and was nominated for Album of the Year at the Grammy Awards. Music Of The Spheres has already accumulated more than four billion streams.



    Back when Everyday Life was released, the middle page of the album booklet contained a teaser for the band's next album 'Music of The Spheres' which had not yet been announced at the time. The image also showed a vintage car with the numberplate showing 'FFTF2024'.

    Fans have long speculated over the last 5 years or so about the meaning of this. With today's announcement of Moon Music, we now know a bit more information!

    Coldplay have shared links for pre-ordering and pre-adding their latest album on various streaming services. Interestingly, the iTunes link includes a trailer for a film titled afilmforthefuture.

    This development sheds light on the enigmatic teaser from Everyday Life, providing fans with a clearer understanding of the band's long-term vision and the meaning behind 'FFTF2024'.


    • Like 2
    • Love 1

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

  • Create New...