✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Audio Interface/piano VST knowledge?

Kacey

Hey everyone,

There must be some people here who know a lot about audio interfaces. I'm deciding whether or not I should purchase one. It would mainly be for recording piano covers. If I were to use MIDI, is the sound quality going to be that much better using an audio interface, than just a direct connection to the computer? In the past, I have always used live recordings, so I would use it for that as well. I know that should be greatly improved?

I was suggested to look into the Steinberg UR22, which appears to be a popular choice.

I'm a bit of a recording noob :)

Hello Kacey. I'm a recording noob myself but I thought I should get this thread moving so I'll tell you what I think. I'd say go MIDI unless you have an awesome acoustic piano and a pair of good mics. Now if you record MIDI and use the piano voice from your digital keyboard it'll sound pretty average (I think it sounds worse than recording with an instrument cable). Therefore, I suggest you invest in a good piano VST (virtual piano sounds). Majority of these piano VST's have been sampled using an acoustic piano and they sound much better than most digital keyboards. Check out The Giant and Alicia's Keys (both by Native Instruments and around $100 I think). So essentially what you're doing is setting up a MIDI connection between your keyboard and your music recording software (DAW) and using your keyboard to trigger the piano VST.