✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

People who know formal music:

I'm taking AP Music Theory next year. I'm really looking forward to it but I can barely sight read at the piano. (I'm okay at it for a beginner I think but.... yeah. I'm not so pro at all.) How do you learn music theory by yourself, just the basic stuff. Cuz it's really hard. And I just really need to know the basic stuff by the end of the summer before school starts yo or I'll be so confused.

Also how do I improve my pitch? Do I just like, listen to C's a lot and go OKAY. THAT WAS A C. THAT RIGHT THERE WAS A C. C C C. C. OKAY. HALF A STEP UP FROM THAT IS A C#. THAT WAS A C#, BRAIN. OKAY? C SHARP.

Or is there some other way you do it? God. I'm not good at this music stuff.

First, I have to say I'm jealous. I wish that specific AP test was offered at my school. Alas, it wasn't. :\

Anyway, music theory comes really easy to me. I made an A in all my college theory classes, and I expect to do the same in Music Form and Analysis (advanced theory class). In fact, I kinda want to get my master's in music theory.

Now, how do I help you?

There are textbooks and workbooks for this very thing. Look into those and read them. It's actually really easy in the beginning. It covers things like the staff and clefs and rhythms. From what I've heard, the AP Music Theory test covers material from your typical Theory I and II classes in college, so you'll probably get as far as part-writing and secondary dominants. Of course, you don't know what those are yet, but hopefully, your class will cover that if you don't get quite that far during the summer.