✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Thumb Drive or External Hard Drive

Elway

What's the difference between the two? I'm running low on space on my c drive and need to put my music files/itunes somewhere else. Recommendations?

Would like to spend less than $100 and get a good size of storage space.

Uhh as far as I know, a thumb drive is just one of those tiny USB flash drives that hold a few gigabytes, whereas an external hard drive is also USB, but it's big (in both size and storage) and can hold several terabytes.

I'm almost certain they make 1TB (~1000 GB) hard drives for around $100 now, and a 500 GB one would be more in your budget, have a look at that.

Okay, so could I store itunes and my music collection on a thumb(flash) drive. I have more than 5,000 songs and expect that to be expanding.

Or, is it more worth the money to get a hard drive? I'm thinking that it probably might be. But how much does 500 GB hold in terms of music?

As you can tell, I'm not that good with computers and tech, but anyone what the steps are to move itunes and all those folders to a new location, PLUS make more room on my c drive.

I mean, once I transfer my music some place else and delete all that stuff on my c drive, and empty the recyle bin, wil it really clean up space or still remain unseen on my c drive? Hope my question makes sense!

Thanks.

Uhh I'm no computer expert but I do spend too much time on them :disappointed: so I did my best to help, someone correct me if I'm wrong.

It is a much better value to get an external hard drive, obviously. The amount of space you can get with a $50 hard drive is astronomical compared to a $50 flash drive. But now that I actually did some research, I doubt you really need that, for your purposes. You don't need the space of an entirely new computer for a couple thousand songs.