✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Who Am I?

burningmonk

I was born on 21st April 1913 in Maidstone, Kent. I graduated from Imperial College London with First Class Honours in Physics. In 1960, I became a member of an Advisory Group on the state of British transport. The following year, I was appointed chairman of the British Transport Comission (later the British Railways Board), despite having no experience of Rail management. I gained a lot of notoriety for a set of plans that ended up in the closure of a third of the country's rail network.

Who am I?

Thought this might be a good idea, maybe not. Who gets the correct answer can do another one etc etc.

Damn..so okay, i know yours was Richard Beeching, right?

But i can't think of a new one now boo.. so it might take a while.

If someone else wants to do the next one i don't mind, but i'll try to come up with something during the next few hours anyway ;)

I saw the title of this thread on the main page and thought somehow that it was about split personality, you know, talking to yourself in your head and all. Like, when there're two of you inside you and they're quite opposite, and you just can't decide which of them is actually real you, so you're just questioning and questioning and still can't figure out who or what you really are.

Ouch.

I was born in 1869 in Porbandar. At the age of 18 i went to University College London to train as a barrister and i returned back home after my studies because i was called to the bar of England and Wales by Inner Temple.

My life changed dramatically after facing the discrimination directed to Indians and blacks in South Africa.