✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Running woes

will16

I run on my high school cross country team and I'm a junior. My freshman and sophmore years were both outstanding seasons i thought for my team. Sophmore year I medaled in three races and broke 19 min. for a 5k. But this year just has been god awful I never thought it would be this bad. Maybe its my lack of motivation by I love running! First race went alright and I thought i did really well. Then the second race was terrible I ran 24 minutes because i stopped several times to walk. WHICH I HAVE NEVER DONE BEFORE IN MY 4 YEARS OF RUNNING CROSS COUNTRY! Coach was so dissapointed and so were my parents even though they keep encouraging me. Then I stopped again in the next race and once again in ran 24 minutes. After the race I just totally broke down and cried my eyes out! This sport means so much to me but recently I don't seem to want to push myself anymore. I don't know whats wrong with me I don't know who I am anymore :(

Like with me and swimming. I eventually realized I had better things to do than petty competition with people who were more athletic than me and after almost quitting once and coming back eventually just broke it off at the end of the season. I'm so glad I did.

For a long while I had something of an identity crisis like you're having, though.

From my point of view, you worry and stress about running way too much. You're in high school...you should be concerned about other things, like not failing trig or chemistry? :P But if you're that concerned about your running, you have another whole off-season to work on it, figure out what's wrong and try harder for next year. :smiley:

Like with me and swimming. I eventually realized I had better things to do than petty competition with people who were more athletic than me and after almost quitting once and coming back eventually just broke it off at the end of the season. I'm so glad I did.