✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Chris Martin's piano and how do they do that?

ardnek

I'm a first-time poster and musician. I was wondering if anyone knows the brand/model piano that Chris Martin plays?

Also, on a lot of Coldplay's songs they use (I'm guessing) a pre-programmed backing track of synthesizer. I've fiddled a bit with synths, and it's hard to get a full pre-programmed song to sync up with the drummer and rest of the band.

Does anyone know (or have any ideas) how they do this? Who starts the synth track? Is that what the the synth near the bass player is used for?

Thx if anyone has any ideas.

Ardnek

Chris Martin Uses Yamaha GT20 on all live gigs. They are unfortunatly unavailable in US, but they are in UK. I heard they are still hard to find. It looks like an acoustic upright piano, but its actually electric, but the piano still has strings which makes the piano sound very organic and real.

Thanks Darthhawk. You're right - I couldn't even find the GT20 anywhere on the Yamaha USA website. But I finally found it on their European site:

http://tinyurl.com/9q5sp

Yikes 220 pounds! You'd need some beefy roadies to travel with one of those, heh. But I don't think it has strings inside - it says it is 100% digital. Never needs tuning. I guess the main draw would be its looks - and its true piano action. The keys and hammers are the same as an actual acoustic piano. But I've gotten so used to the fast, easy touch of spring-action keyboards that when I try to play a real piano my hands cramp up, lol.

It must have multiple voices too, because I saw Martin using its organ sound during Clocks on Austin City Limits the other day.

Anyway, Yamaha gets my vote for the best, most realistic piano sounds in their digital keyboards over any other manufacturer.

Thx,

Ardnek

Yeah it's a pretty cool Piano. Was pretty puzzled when I first Chris playing it with the Organ sounds during Glastonbury. :huh: :huh: :huh: :huh: :huh:

I want one now :rolleyes: