✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

"Lost" Tainted by Jay-Z

gilbert

I am new to this message board, and I am having great difficulty figuring out how to use it - please bare with me. I am an African-American man, and even though it has been very difficult living in this world because of the color of my skin; I have learned to embrace it , and accept the person that I am, and to understand that I had no choice in determining the color of my skin.

The fact that Jay-Z used the "N" word in his rap re-mix of "Lost," and that Chris Martin and the band allowed the word to be used in one of their most beautiful songs; I not only find this to be disgusting, but also disappointing. Black men that use the "N" word come across as ignorant and disrespectful to themselves. They seem to forget what the word meant by it's creators, racists, and slave owners of our past. It is an ugly word, and a very violent word too. And for Chris Martin and the band to allow Jay-Z to take full reign to "Lost," and insert an offensive tainted quality to the song; well, this is unforgivable and insulting to me.

I hope that this message somehow gets delivered to Chris and the band, and that they understand how I feel, and that they be more careful and attentive in the future, in listening to words that other artists insert in Coldplay songs.

hey Gilbert I agree with you to some extent but are you upset because the N word was used in a coldplay song or in general because rappers use it all the time and it never seems to be a problem......

It should not be about how people view us but about how we view ourselves and honestly using the word niggaz can mean we don't give a shit yeah we know that we're black and we damn proud of it

All in all I love Jayz's collabaration on the song.... Its the bloody brilliant

I understand the term nigga is different if you're a black person saying it...