✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Why do you like Coldplay?

jennygirl5891

I am a student working on an album project regarding Coldplay for a class. One of the requirements was that we not know very much about the band. I am trying to find out specifically why fans like them, what you think made them so popular, and so forth. Can you help me out? How do they connect with fans? Why is Coldplay successful?

I suppose you need to view it from a neutral point, so here's a start:

At concerts:

The band is always trying to make you feel like they actually want to be there. Not just playing their set and then go without saying a word.

In other countries Chris always tries to address the audience in their language and refers to something from their city or what's up in the news or current events and sometimes they cover a song that has to do with the location of the concert.

He talks with the audience and all around they make you feel like you're part of something special happening.

To get closer to the audience in the back they played a couple of songs at another little stage at the opposite end of the stage during the last tour and therefore managed to make a stadium gig feel somewhat more intimate.

In public appearances:

Their current website is really incorporating fan's input. Have a look!

There's the Oracle (you ask questions and the Oracle answers - it can be Coldplay related or not) and the Exhibition Room (art entries displayed) for example.

Those make the fans go to their website on a daily basis, very clever haha

There are blogs from behind the scenes written by "Roadie #42" who provides us with infos from the studio and what's happening on tour.

There are competitions to win unique items in every newsletter and they gave away a free Live CD to every concert goer after a gig on the last tour. Some songs were available for free download from their website as well.

That was a lot of sentences starting with T hahaha