✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

i'm a newbie guitar player and...

this probably isn't going to be much help, but...

PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT, lol :D

then you could increase the strength of your finger tips. Probably, since you're a beginning, the tips of your fingers hurt like hell after you play that you have a take a break for a little bit. While waiting for your calluses to build up, get a tennis ball or a hand ball and hold it with your thumb and your palm and going one by one press your finger tips into ball like you would with a string. Doesn't always help, but I did it for a while and it eventually helped me. Then there's doing string exercises to increase the speed of your finger movement.

-1---------------------------------------------------------------------1--------

-----------2------------------------------------------------2-------------------

---------------------3-----------------------------3----------------------------

---------------------------------4--------4-------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 2 3 4 4 3 2 1

is an example, and there's much harder/more fun variations

Haha, uhm... I don't really know any specific ways to learn how to change chords faster/cleaner, since I really don't know how to properly play guitar (i'm self taught) but yeah... your hands will hurt at first.

There's a pretty noticable difference between my left hand and my right hand now--my left hand's finger tips are really calloused :laugh3: but playing guitar hasn't hurt for me in a while. Sometimes it still does, even with the callouses.

It helps if you know your chords really well too. If you're not really sure where to put your fingers, you'll change chords really sloppy or slow because you're not completely sure where your fingers go.

Just keep practicing. :)