✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Need help form English and German people!

Koala

Hello! I didn't know where to post this and finally I post it here, I think is the best place.

Well, I'm from Spain and I've been studying English for nearly 6 years. Last Christmas I took the FCE (First Certificate by Cambridge) and now I don't know what to do.

What should I do, keep studying English and go to the Advance level or just keep reading and stufying on my own or should I start with German?

I've always wanted to learn some other language but will I forget English?

And how is it seen to have the FCE in England?:wink3:

I'm neither English nor German, but here's what I think.

When you've reached a certain level in a language it's certainly possible to continue studying it on your own. It might even be easier and better because you can decide for yourself what you want to learn or get better at. The most important thing to remember is that you only really learn a language when you are using it. So you could keep your English up to date by reading books, watching movies, using the internet (writing on English message boards etc.) and probably most importantly: continue speaking in English. That can be challenging because you don't live in an English speaking country, but in my experience it's the most important part of really knowing a language. However, a disadvantage could be that you have to do everything yourself so you need to have enough motivation and there's no one correcting you or telling you when you're learning or doing something wrong.