✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

Do you speak English as a second language?

funkenstein

Then I would love to hear from you!

I am interested in languages and I am also studying to teach English as a second/additional language to non-native speakers.

As part of my studies I need to interview someone who has learnt English as a second/additional language, and it would help if you have moved to an English speaking country. If you would be interested in helping me, I have some questions relating to your experiences in learning the language, both from a linguistic and socio-cultural perspective.

All the information will remain confidential and I will collect your answers from the questions to write a report on your experiences and the difficulties that you faced in learning English.

If you are interested PM me and I will send you the list of questions. There are quite a number of them, but they shouldn’t be difficult to answer.

If you are able to do this I would be so grateful!! I love hearing about peoples experiences!

English is my second language, I think ... (Dutch is first) but I have never moved to an English speaking country. Only for holidays I've been to England/Ireland/USA. Is that good enough?

You can send me the list of questions if you want/if I qualify :)

I found this the most rewarding and interesting part of my teacher training (for the same qualification I think) :)

I'd say you will most definitely benefit hugely from finding someone to conduct the interview with face-to-face. Obviously the interview needs to be spoken rather than through text, because a lot of problems non-native speakers have aren't apparent through writing. Even on the phone you may miss some.

E.g. my interview was with a native Thai lady. She had the typical Thai difficulty of pronouncing any 's' at the end of a word (it's been a long time since I studied so I can't remember if this is all sounds at the ends of words or mainly an 's').