✨ STAY UP TO DATE WITH THE WORLD TOUR ✨

I need performing tips

86Timewarp

I'm a noob forgive me :P

But I suck at open mics, probably cause I'm nervous and unprepared, but aside from practicing, and thinking away with the audience, do you have equipment, constructive advice?

They're all Coldplay songs :P but I need knowledge:

How to sing into a mic, do I sing close to it? Do I project?

Stand or sit?

and anything else you know!

Thanks!

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Sing as close as you can (singing far away is a bigger risk of feedback), and I find it easier to stand, but it's all a matter of what makes you comfortable.

And don't try to think away the audience. I like to try to think that I'm in front of an audience when I'm practising.

And yes, project. Depending on what equipment these open mics have, they can adjust your volume accordingly or put a compressor on you.

One thing I find helpful is to have someone to perform with.

hope this helps!

you play the keyboard, so sitting will help a lot ;) generally, playing an instrument is good, because then you MUST know where you are and what you're to do. also, as a solo performer, it adds flexibility to your performance - see the backing track problems -> consider your band (if you're a singer only) as a recorded track that cannot be changed; at least if they are not very good (so they can improvise and adapt) or well instructed

singing directly into the mic with a distance of like 1cm or less is good, but remember to back off if you sing loud passages or sing with your mouth right next to the mic but not into it when using P sounds. e.g. "and the hardest part..." i always have to back off or turn a little to the side when singing part because otherwise it'll be a loud BOOM only, like a bass drum